Sports Injuries and Rehab

Patient education is provided and reviewed by the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. AAOS does not endorse any treatments, procedures, products, or physicians referenced. The information is provided as an educational service and is not intended to serve as medical advice. Anyone seeking specific orthopedic advice or assistance should consult his or her orthopedic surgeon.

 

Common Sports Injuries & Conditions

Burners and Stingers

Female Athletes: Health Problems Caused by Extreme Exercise and Dieting https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/female-athlete-triad-problems-caused-by-extreme-exercise-and-dieting

Heat Injury https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/heat-injury-and-heat-exhaustion

Muscle Contusion (Bruise) https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/muscle-contusion-bruise

Muscle Cramp https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/muscle-cramps

Sports Concussionhttps://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/sports-concussion

Sports Hernia (Athletic Pubalgia) https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/sports-hernia-athletic-pubalgia

Sprains and Strains: What’s the Difference? https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/sprains-strains-and-other-soft-tissue-injuries

Sprains, Strains and Other Soft Tissue Injuries

Stress Fractures https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/stress-fractures

 

 

Foot and Ankle

Lisfranc (Midfoot) Injury TO EXISTING LISFRANC PAGE

Stress Fractures of the Foot and Ankle TO Stress Fractures of the Foot and Ankle PAGE

Turf Toe https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/turf-toe

 

 

Hip

Femoroacetabular Impingement (FAI) https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/femoroacetabular-impingement

Hip Arthroscopy https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/hip-arthroscopy

Hip Bursitis TO HIP BURSITIS PAGE

Hip Dislocation TO HIP DISLOCATION PAGE

Hip Strains TO HIP STRAINS PAGE

Snapping Hip TO SNAPPING HIP PAGE

 

 

Knee and Leg

ACL Injury: Does It Require Surgery? https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/acl-injury-does-it-require-surgery

Anterior Cruciate Ligament Injuries https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/anterior-cruciate-ligament-acl-injuries

Burning Thigh Pain (Meralgia paresthetica) TO BURNING THIGH PAGE

Collateral Ligament Injuries https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/collateral-ligament-injuries

Combined Knee Ligament Injuries https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/combined-knee-ligament-injuries

Common Knee Injuries https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/common-knee-injuries

Compartment Syndrome https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/compartment-syndrome

Hamstring Muscle Strain https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/hamstring-muscle-injuries

Knee Arthroscopy TO KNEE ARTHROSCOPY

Knee Tendon Bursitis https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/pes-anserine-knee-tendon-bursitis

Kneecap (Prepatellar) Bursitis TO KNECAP PAGE

Meniscal Tear TO MENISCAL TEAR

Meniscal Transplants TO MENISCAL TRANSPLANTS PAGE

Muscle Strains in the Thigh TO MUSCLE STRAINS PAGE

Patellar Tendon Tear https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/patellar-tendon-tear

Posterior Cruciate Ligament (PCL) Tear TO PCL TEAR

Quadriceps Tendon Tear https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/quadriceps-tendon-tear

Runner’s Knee (Patellofemoral Pain) TO RUNNERS KNEE PAGE

Shin Splints : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/shin-splints

Unstable Kneecap TO UNSTABLE KNEECAP PAGE

 

 

Shoulder, Arm, Elbow

Biceps Tendon Tear at the Elbow TO Biceps Tendon Tear at the Elbow Page

Biceps Tendon Tear at the Shoulder   https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/biceps-tendon-tear-at-the-shoulder

Chronic Shoulder Instability : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/chronic-shoulder-instability

Rotator Cuff Tears [ROTATOR CUFF TEARS PAGE

Rotator Cuff Tears: Frequently Asked Questions https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/rotator-cuff-tears-frequently-asked-questions

Rotator Cuff Tears: Surgical Treatment Options   https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/rotator-cuff-tears-surgical-treatment-options

Shoulder Arthroscopy https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/shoulder-arthroscopy

Shoulder Impingement/Rotator Cuff Tendinitis [SHOULDER IMPINGEMENT PAGE

Shoulder Separation TO SHOULDER SEPERATION PAGE

Shoulder Surgery TO SHOULDER SEPERATION PAGE

Tennis Elbow (Lateral Epicondylitis) TO TENNIS ELBOW PAGE

 

 

Hand and Wrist

Mallet Finger (Baseball Finger)

Exercise

General

Rehabilitation Exercise and Conditioning Handouts : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/recovery/?topic=RehabilitationExercise

Why Exercise? https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/starting-an-exercise-program/

 

 

Seniors

Exercise and Bone and Joint Conditions https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/staying-active-as-you-age/

Seniors and Exercise https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/seniors-and-exercise

Seniors and Exercise: Starting an Exercise Program : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/seniors-and-exercise-starting-an-exercise-program

 

 

Planning an Exercise Program

Aerobic Exercise https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/aerobic-exercise

Cross Training : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/cross-training

Exercise Walking : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/exercise-walking

Selecting Home Exercise Equipment https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/selecting-home-exercise-equipment

Starting a Strength Training Program https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/starting-a-strength-training-program

Starting an Exercise Program : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/starting-an-exercise-program

Warm Up, Cool Down and Be Flexible : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/warm-up-cool-down-and-be-flexible

Weight-Bearing Exercise for Women and Girls https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/exercise-and-bone-health/

 

 

Prevention and Safety

Athletic Shoes TO ATHLETIC SHOES PAGE

Helmet Safety : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/helmet-safety

Return To Play https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/high-school-sports-injuries/

Safe Exercise https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/safe-exercise

Sports Injuries and Baby Boomers https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/sports-injury-prevention-for-baby-boomers

Sports Savvy: Battling Injuries and Infections in Athletes of All Ages

Tips for a Safe Running Program https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/tips-for-a-safe-running-program

Train Smart and Stay Strong

Yoga Injury Prevention : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/yoga-injury-prevention

 

 

Sports

Gymnastics Injury Prevention https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/gymnastics-injury-prevention

Baseball Injury Prevention https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/baseball-injury-prevention

Basketball Injury Prevention https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/basketball-injury-prevention

Football Injury Prevention https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/football-injury-prevention

Golf Injury Prevention https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/golf-injury-prevention

Hockey Injury Prevention : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/hockey-injury-prevention

Horseback Riding Injury Prevention https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/horseback-riding-injury-prevention

Prevent Winter Sports Injuries https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/winter-sports-injury-prevention

Skiing Injury Prevention https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/skiing-injury-prevention

Soccer Injury Prevention https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/soccer-injury-prevention

Swimming Injury Prevention : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/swimming-injury-prevention

Tennis Court Safety : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/tennis-injury-prevention/

Tennis Injury Prevention https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/tennis-injury-prevention

Volleyball Injury Prevention https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/volleyball-injury-prevention

 

 

Wellness

Daily Activity Log

Effects of Aging https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/effects-of-aging

Staying Active As You Age : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/staying-active-as-you-age

 

Children

 

Common Sports Injuries & Conditions

Adolescent Anterior Knee Pain TO ADOLSECENT KNEE PAIN

Spondylolysis and Spondylolisthesis TO SPONDYLOLSIS PAGE

Throwing Injuries in the Elbow in Children : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/throwing-injuries-in-the-elbow-in-children

 

 

Activity and Exercise

Female Athletes: Health Problems Caused by Extreme Exercise and Dieting https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/female-athlete-triad-problems-caused-by-extreme-exercise-and-dieting

Physical Activity for Children : https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/fitness-for-kids

Weight-Bearing Exercise for Women and Girls https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/exercise-and-bone-health/

 

 

Sports

A Guide to Safety for Young Athletes https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/a-guide-to-safety-for-young-athletes

Flexibility Exercises for Young Athletes https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/staying-healthy/flexibility-exercises-for-young-athletes

High School Sports Injuries https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases--conditions/high-school-sports-injuries

Recreational Activities and Childhood Injuries

The Young Athlete

 

Patient Stories

A Patient’s Experience with Torn ACL

 

Resources

Additional Resources on Sports Safety

Fitness Resources